Top Of The World

Over the past few weeks since I came back to Toronto from NYC I’ve been in this strange space where I felt like I was trying to find myself again. I’d only been gone for a bit over a week but somehow when I came back the city felt different. I felt different.

New York has this way of changing me a little every time I go. It’s scary. It’s bustling. I often get lost in it. But in it I also feel reborn. Travel is like a reset button for my life, shaking it up entirely.

HBA 004


While in New York it was important for me to work with some brands that aren’t very common in Toronto and the one I knew I wanted for sure was Hood By Air. I’ve been into this label for a while now because I love the graphic nature of their designs and they’re one of the few brands that make unisex clothing I’d actually want to wear.

I knew I had to have their signature duster coat and when I saw their cropped tee with mesh hem the two made the perfect pair. Matched with some equally eye catching sweatpants by Y-3, one of my favorite streetwear looks I’ve shot was complete.

I wanted to shoot in a place that would feel iconic and uniquely New York. After some thought I settled on The Brooklyn Bridge. I love the beautiful arches and the view. Standing in the middle, you can see both Brooklyn and Manhattan.

Even though it was cold and the bridge was packed with people that I had to dodge to get the shots I wanted, being up there was like being on top of the world. What do you guys think of this look? And where do you go to feel on top of the world?

Love,

Mirian

PS – This blog post’s name was borrowed from the Brandy and Mase song of the same title as it’s what I was listening to on repeat when I edited the photos. Gotta love classic 90s R&B 🙂

HBA 011HBA 010HBA 002HBA 006HBA 007HBA 001HBA 005HBA 009HBA 003HBA 012

 

 

Leave a Reply

