Girl Power in Isabel Marant

Yesterday was International Women’s Day and it had me thinking about what it means and what it’s like to be a woman in 2016 living in Western culture, specifically for myself, a black woman in North America. I thought about society and how it is to be a woman navigating life, love, the job market, and everything in between. Navigating beauty standards and the minefield that is female sexuality. Social Media. Economics. Daily life. All from the female perspective. I thought of some of the strong, smart, courageous women that inspire me like activist Bree Newsome and First Lady Michelle Obama.

Queens-Court-004

I’ve also been thinking about my life in particular and my path as a fashion entrepreneur. The ups and downs. The lessons. The slow growth that sometimes is so slow it doesn’t feel like progress at all. When I graduated with a degree in fashion I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to do. I was only just beginning to dip my feet in the fashion styling pool, not knowing if I’d sink or swim.

Then, and even still now, it has always been more about where I want to be in the end than exactly what creative path I take to get there. I have a vision, and I’m working my way backwards to see how to get there. Thanks to this Fortune Magazine article, I see I’m in good company.

I think my caption I posted on Instagram yesterday sums up my feelings well by saying:

Happy #InternationalWomensDay to all the bad ass women breaking barriers and shattering glass ceilings. To all the girlbosses who believe that well-behaved women seldom make history. To all the sisters on a 24/7 hustle. Ok ladies, now let’s get in formation. Ok ladies, now let’s get information.

This set was shot out in Queens at a neighborhood basketball court during my time in New York City. Jacket by Isabel Marant. Shirt by Marcelo Burlon. Jeans by NSF. Sneakers by Reebok.

Love,

Mirian

Queens-Court-009Queens-Court-008Queens-Court-007Queens-Court-003Queens-Court-006Queens-Court-005Queens-Court-002

2 thoughts on “Girl Power in Isabel Marant”

Leave a Reply

