Very Berry: 3 Lip Shades To Try For Valentine’s Day

T-minus 12 days until Valentine’s Day! Are you excited? I’ve always been a romantic so I’m definitely looking forward to it. So much so that I’ve decided to put together a three part series in celebration of the holiday, with this being part 1. Let’s talk makeup.


For a long time I was a huge makeup junkie. One of my favorite high school past times was taking a leisurely stroll to one of my neighborhood beauty supply stores and checking out all the products, testing some, and possibly leaving with a few new pieces to add to my ever growing collection.  I wore eye shadows, liners, glitter, and polish regularly.

These days my daily makeup routine consists only of mascara. When I feel like dressing up a bit more I’ll dust on some blush and highlighter. But every now and then I like to switch up my look more considerably and that is where lip color comes in. Lip color is quick and high impact. In one minute you can instantly make your lips the center of attention and that’s why I often opt for lipstick when I want to make a change.

Valentine’s Day is the perfect time to tap into that extra girly side of yourself and experiment with makeup. On a whim I picked up these three lip shades and thought now would be the perfect time to do some swatches and mini reviews. For the sake of the swatches below I used no other products like lip primer, liner, etc.


NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Istanbul

I really liked this shade because it’s not too intense and it’s a good “intro” into lip color. Great for a day date or at nighttime. It’s a fairly neutral/slightly cool tone.  Because it’s matte I found it easy to apply and it didn’t smear over time. My only thing about matte colors is of course that you have to make sure that your lips are moisturized and exfoliated or it could be a mess.

very-berry-002very-berry-003

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague

Istanbul a little too “barely there” for you? Prague is a great option for a more intense berry hue. For my complexion it’s a little too deep for casual daytime use but for someone darker, maybe it’s possible? I’m really liking this matte lip trend that’s happening in the beauty world so for me this was another way to explore that. Again, for this you’ll have to get yourself a good moisturizing primer for underneath and you’ll be good to go. I think chapsticks are too slick underneath a matte color so if you’re like me and don’t wanna go buy another product a good beauty hack I use is I massage a tiny bit of a fragrance free hand cream like Glysomed into my lips and it acts as a primer locking in moisture without that oily feeling.

very-berry-004very-berry-005

LA Girl Glazed Lip Paint in Daring

The name really says it all. This is my most daring shade for sure. Quite dark on me, when I wear it the rest of my face is very neutral. Unlike the first two, this color is super shiny and comes out of the tube as a gloss. I love its high impact but I have to be honest and say that because it’s gloss, it can get a little messy. You have to be very careful with application and while you’re wearing it, but that’s just the nature of the product. I admit it got on my teeth a little and I noticed some slight “bleeding” of the color on the edges of my lips. Maybe that could be resolved with some kind of liner? I’m not sure but I like the shade enough to keep wearing it.

very-berry-006very-berry-007

Which shade is your fave? Got any recommendations or beauty hacks for me? Let me know in the comments and check back later for Part 2. Hint: It’s got lace, mesh, and an interview with an expert.

Love,

Mirian

 

One thought on “Very Berry: 3 Lip Shades To Try For Valentine’s Day”

Leave a Reply

