The “B” in Beaufille Stands For Badass

It’s been my pleasure to shine a light on Canadian design talent like Mary Young and Mani Jassal. There’s so many great things happening here in Toronto and I really want to make an effort to share the beautiful work of as many emerging designers as I can so please meet another one of my favorites: Beaufille.


This ready-to-wear label founded by sisters Chloe and Parris Gordon derives its name from the French phrase “handsome girl”. It’s a dichotomous take on fashion mixing elements of hardness and softness, masculinity and femininity.

I first discovered them a few years back when I was a media photographer at Fashion Week.  Back then they were going by another name, Chloe comme Parris. I remember seeing their Fall/Winter 2013 runway show and instantly being inspired to write this review soon after it ended:

“If the fashion industry were a high school, Chloe comme Parris would undoubtedly be the class misfit. Effortlessly stylish and crowdsurfing to the beat of her own grunge drum she’d be hanging out under the football bleachers in a Nirvana tee, smelling like teen spirit. Barreling down the runway to the sounds of 90s rock anthems by Blur and Beck, the CCP girl of fall 2013 was decked out in military olive, terracotta, black, and other muddy tones. Leather and layers were the staples of the collection which resembled what you’d hope to find among fresh stock in a suburban army surplus store. For the brand, it wasn’t about hopping on the 90s Revival trend of the moment; this is the true and genuine aesthetic at the heart of Chole comme Parris. In the future I expect to see nothing but more deliciously badass frocks from these young Vivienne Westwoods in the making.”

To see the collection that inspired this write up, click the link above. I dig into their archive to say that even years ago, they were doing amazing work and though looking at their recent work, you can see all the ways they’ve grown, you can also see the aesthetic that they’ve remained true to and my feelings about them haven’t changed at all.

Clearly my 2013 expectations were realized as the pictures in this post feature a jacket and skirt from their Fall/Winter 2015 collection. I usually hate winter fashion because of how drab it often feels to me but in these two pieces I found a liveliness and artistic quality that reminded me what it is about fashion that I love. The texture, the shape, the cuts, all beautiful. I hope I’ve piqued your interest to this label and that you’ll visit their website and Instagram to learn more about them.

Love,

Mirian


Leave a Reply

