New Year, New Me?

New year, who dis?


I know I said here that I’m not into New Years Resolutions and I’m still not into the idea of them but I’m a sucker for goal-setting and self improvement and the start of a new year just feels like the right time to look at life, see where I’m at, and what I’d like to work on.

People say that there’s power in words. Power in taking your thoughts and putting them to paper (or keyboard in this case). I also think there’s power in sharing your goals. When you say them out loud and share them with those around you, they can encourage you to reach them and hold you accountable if you start to deviate. There’s so much I want to work on in terms of myself and this blog and I thought sharing them here would be a great way to show you guys where I’m coming from and what I hope to do in the future. Maybe you can tell me some of the goals you guys are working on too? So here we go, Goaldiggers Unite ❤


BE FEARLESS. I’m a chronic over-thinker. I’m convinced my Mom was stressed out when she was pregnant with me and passed on those worrier genes to me. Sometimes I think about things so much I talk myself out of them before I even begin. My anxiety gets the best of me and I’m too wrapped up in it to even make a move. It’s because of this that I’ve started telling my IRL friends what I’d like to do so I can get out of my head and they can help me not give up.

TRAVEL MORE. For someone who hates to fly, I sure do love to travel. I’ve always been fascinated with exploring other cultures since I was young. I’ve wanted to go to Japan for over half my life. I’ve fantasized about visiting the pyramids of Giza and the rain forests of Thailand. Last year I visited Puerto Rico and it was such a beautiful country. I also started following the Travel Noire Instagram last year and since then I have had no shortage of dream destinations to add to my list. So far I’ve been in some early talks about going to Morocco and back to NYC again and I really hope they all work out because I’m craving some new surroundings and I’d love to share them with you here.

OPEN UP. Part of being a good blogger is being relatable. There is something so beautiful about a person who bares their truth and makes themselves vulnerable. Lola Plaku is many things to many people in Toronto and New York. Concert promoter, PR whiz, and most recently the full-time manager for rapper French Montana. When I moved to Toronto years ago her name was already respected in the media industry and when I had the chance to meet her at her ‘Girl Connected’ networking event last fall I was most in awe of her pure honesty and I loved her for it. I’m a very private person by nature and I admire people who are effortlessly open. It is something I consciously push myself to be and I want to continue to push my limits.

Those are just three things I hope for in the new year. What about you?

Love,

Mirian


Shirt by H&M

One thought on “New Year, New Me?”

Leave a Reply

