50 Shades of Grey

Just kidding, this is actually just about one shade of grey. A cool heather grey that I wanted to play with wearing nearly head to toe. Monochromatic dressing, also known as tone-on-tone dressing, is a trend that’s name describes exactly how to execute it. It’s all about picking one color and wearing it head to toe or as close to that as you can come. You can pick one hue and select various tints and shades of it or you can do like I did in this outfit series below and color match it all. Pantone would be so proud. One of the biggest celebrity devotees of monochromatic dressing that I’ve seen display strong examples of it is Kim Kardashian. She is well known for having a penchant for head to toe neutrals like taupe, navy, olive, and cream. I think an easy way to wear this trend without having to shop around too much would be to look for a cute coordinate set sold by fast fashion retailers like Missguided.

As for me, I opted to combine a Zara coat over an American Apparel dress to get my monochromatic fix that’s both feminine yet still covered up for fall. I then threw on a few silver accessories by H&M and completed the look by adding some dimension with white pumps by ASOS. Did you catch my hair tucked in the turtleneck? This is a fun hair trend that’s been popping up on runways and in editorials for a few seasons now that I wanted to try out for this shoot. I really like monochromatic dressing and I hope I inspired you guys to give it a shot. What do you guys think?


Leave a Reply

