Puerto Rico 2015

Yucca Mofongo. Castillo San Felipe del Morro. El Yunque. Three things you may not be familiar with now but you will be once you read about my summer adventure in Puerto Rico.

In late June I had the pleasure of visiting Puerto Rico. While it wasn’t necessarily on my list of top places I wanted to visit, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to immerse myself in a new place and culture. I stayed at the beautiful El Conquistador resort in Fajardo. It’s beautiful design with gorgeous pools, fountains, balconies, ocean views and private island named Palomino made it a very relaxing home away from home.

My Puerto Rican adventure began with my first taste of the local cuisine. I decided to try a dish called Yucca Mofungo with shrimp. After dinner I did a little research and according to Wikipedia “Mofongo is an Afro-Puerto Rican dish that has clear roots in the West African Fufu” which I guess made it a perfect introduction for my Liberian palette.

One of my favorite parts of the trip was getting to visit Old San Juan, a city with over 500 years of history. While exploring Castillo San Felipe del Morro, a San Juan National Historical Site, I got up close and personal with its many watchtowers, large cemetery, steel blue lighthouse, and more.

After that I took in the city’s historic architecture. Ever since I went to Spain a few years ago I fell in love with Old World architecture and hove photographing it so I was completely in my element walking the streets of San Juan. The way the designed those buildings, it’s like they were works of art in themselves. While looking for some souvenirs I stopped into an artisan craft shop and came across a wall of gilded crosses and mirrors to pretty to not photograph. I snapped a shot quickly but the store owner still caught me though he didn’t say anything.

My second favorite part of the trip was when I took a guided tour of El Yunque National rainforest. Preserved by the government it is so vast and untouched with abundant wildlife. I particularly enjoyed climbing up the roughly one hundred steps of the Yokahu Observation Tower to get a panoramic bird’s eye view of the forest.

All in all it was a great experience and I look forward to my next travel adventure and getting to share it with you guys here. Have you gone anywhere this summer? What’s your favorite part of my trip?

One thought on “Puerto Rico 2015”

Leave a Reply

